loving/vulnerability/danger

15 09 2009

I’ve written before about vulnerability, and some of the ways in which I think it matters in social justice work, movement-building, relationship building…

And then Little Light writes this, and I’m blown away all over again:

See, I can refuse to admit vulnerability, but that won’t make me not vulnerable.  There is nothing that can do that, not even covering myself up with layers and layers of the armor we all use to get through the day and pretending away the ugly things and the hard parts of my history and everyone else’s.  This isn’t about complaining.  I’m just stating facts that are, yes, relevant to who I am, why I participate in feminism and the greater movement toward social justice, why and how and what I write and contribute.  Pretending it isn’t so forces me into a strange and inhuman position where we just posture at each other.  You’re not vulnerable, I’m not vulnerable, let’s have an abstract debate about theories, and hey, justify your feelings, and hey, little lady, the grownups are talking and why are you so upset and come back, we were just having a friendly little debate about ideas, and what do you mean this is real life for you?

Go read the rest of it.

Actions

Information

One response

21 09 2009
thissouthernfaggot

This is really, really wonderful.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

